SP Driving Academy proudly offers their clients MVA-certified, 36-hour Driver's Education course. Upon course completion, you will be eligible to obtain a Maryland provisional driver's license.
Frequently Asked Questions
Maryland law requires ALL first-time drivers to complete the MVA-certified Driver's Education course in order to obtain a state driver's license. This rule applies to all Maryland residents.
The classroom portion of the course runs Monday through Friday for two weeks (a total of 10 days). Each class is 3 hours long plus a 15-minute break.
There are also 3 in-car driving lessons of 2 hours each (a total of 6 in-car hours). Students may choose the dates & times for the in-car lessons after their first day of class. If you do not have a learner's permit, you can schedule the driving lessons after you obtain one.
The Driver's Education include 30 hours Classroom and 6 hours Behind the Wheel (BTW).
Completion of Driver's Education
Upon successful completion of the Maryland Driver's Education program, students are required to have at least 80% minimum score but our instructors strive for perfection.
Thereafter, we promptly submit graduated student information electronically to the MVA.
After you pass your written exam and have obtained your Maryland learner's permit, you need to log a substantial number of supervised hours behind the wheel. Learners under 25 must drive at least 60 hours.
MVA policy requires all students attend the first day of class, so please keep in mind that you cannot miss the first day.